Where’d you go Bernadette — Maria Semple

Hello there,

I read this book a long while ago but I distinctly remember it making me laugh. What I really enjoyed was the format of the book. It was written in the form of email exchanges, letters and invoices, providing glimpses and clues into the lives of Bernadette and her family. I also enjoyed delving into Bernadette’s life as an architect and what happened after. I particularly liked Bee, Bernadette’s daughter. I’m not sure why but maybe because I saw a little bit of myself in her, the ambition and quirkiness , traits I *believe* I possess (probably not). Even so, it was a crazy adventure all in all, with funny bits, albeit a predictable conclusion. (I personally didn’t guess, but it was glaringly obvious in hindsight)

Happy reading

Leave a Reply

