More than this — Patrick Ness

Hello there,

Patrick Ness has done it again and what a wonderful sight it was to behold. This book is the third book I have read by the same author and he is starting to cement his place in my book as one of my favourite authors.

I’m glad I took the advice to go into this book without knowing much about it. You can dive into this book without reading the synopsis and you’d still be on the same page as anyone else who did. It is shrouded in an air of mystery, which could have backfired but it worked beautifully.

I only have one small issue with this book. The ending, and this is for two reasons:

  1. The book ended
  2. How it ended

Nonetheless, I was always at the edge of my seat, immersing myself in the world that Ness has created. That was more than enough to compensate for the love-it or hate-it ending.

Happy reading

3 thoughts on “More than this — Patrick Ness

    • jaimejyl10 says:

      This is a tough one to answer. I can definitely think of one book that I could compare it to in terms of the setting, but to tell you that would be to give away a huge spoiler.

      I would say the style of the book reminded me a little of Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn, where the story unfolds in the form of flashbacks interspersed with events happening in the present time. It is also similar as there is a mystery that shrouds both books. The main difference being that in Charm and Strange, the mystery is only resolved at the end of the book while in More Than This, it is resolved mid-way through. As it is supposed to be a mystery, I cannot reveal what the conclusion is and thus what proceeds after.

      The way I see it, it can also be taken as a coming-of-age novel, as most young adult novels are.

      I hope that answered your question somewhat and I’m sorry I couldn’t give a more specific answer. I stand by my decision that it is best to know as little as possible before going into this book. 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

