Alienated — Melissa Landers

 

Hello there,

This book is difficult to review. I feel incredibly conflicted about it. (If you read the book you’d get my reference here) Let me list out the good stuff first, then the not-so-good stuff.

Good stuff:

  1. I enjoyed reading about the alien race and the alien exchange program. The paranoia and riots against the alien race echoed the xenophobia and racism people face in our society, things that still happen around the world today.
  2. I admired the main character, Cara, for her tenacity and passion? I also liked another character Eron, you’ll understand why if you read the book.
  3. It was also incredibly funny, whether intentionally or not.

Not-so-good stuff:

You might want to read the book first because I feel like you should be entitled to your own unbiased opinion so if you would like to read the book without any other influence, now is your chance. Tab over and find the book now. Also, don’t go looking for information about the second book before you finish reading the first. I know that seems obvious but I happened to make that mistake and it might have ruined a bit of the experience.

(MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS that concern things in the synopsis)

 

 

  1. Well, this book was written in the third-person but every so often the perspective would change between Cara and Aelyx. I was okay with this because I felt that the swaps were put mostly to good use and fit the story’s purpose. I just felt this point worth mentioning because it’s quite a different style of writing that some people might not like.
  2. The way Cara wrote on her blog was completely different from her character. It made her seem quite shallow, far from her strong-willed nature. It might have been intentional but I couldn’t see why it had to be that way.
  3. Too much romance. I know, I know, it’s in the synopsis but I felt that the “falling in love part” had already been established in the synopsis so they would fast-forward to the “fight for earth” part. That was what drew me to read to book, not another typical boy-meets-girl. Even if the guy happens to be an alien.
  4. Quoting straight from the synopsis “But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon, Cara will be in the fight for her life — not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet.” Everything’s okay right? So about maybe mid-way through the book this conflict will be revealed and there’s this fight to piece the broken pieces back together and save the earth yada yada yada? No. This happens nearly at the end of the book. Maybe 40 pages left and Aelyx’s secret plan still hadn’t been revealed to Cara. And Cara’s “battle” was, what 4 pages? I was sorely disappointed, the fact that Cara was written to be a strong-willed and passionate character, made it even more important to me that she had a right to a better “battle”. (I’m sorry I have to keep saying battle, I can’t think of a better word) I felt that this hypothetical “battle” could have contributed so much to her character growth, maybe made her more mature. But the opportunity was lost and the story tied up in a neat(?) ending.
  5. I really didn’t like how the ending was done. I felt it was too rushed, as I mentioned above. The conclusion didn’t feel like one at all, it felt too slip-shod. It just felt like an advertisement for the second book.

Okay, on the whole, I felt the book was okay. It was a fun-enough read and incredibly funny. If you’ve read the entire review, I hope I didn’t dissuade you from reading it because many other people loved it. It should be worth a try. I enjoyed reading it but I don’t think I’ll be picking up the second book. We’ll see.

Happy reading

 

Leave a Reply

